Dogs and Life / Winter Fun

Pleasant days…

The extremely cold weather seems to have passed, for now. It has been almost thawing for the past couple of days.

Gary went skiing Tuesday and Wednesday, with our friend Rob. They came back with a couple of ski videos on the GoPro, that I’ve “fixed” to the best of my ability:

Marmot Ski Resort

Marmot Ski Resort

Gary skis the Trees at Marmot Basin:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vWcMUnmDV0

Rob skis the Trees at Marmot Basin:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWvinMVPS9s

In reality, they are both skiing the trees at Marmot, near Jasper, Alberta. They took turns wearing the video cam.

I am learning by small degrees how to edit the videos. The computer programs don’t always work as I expect. I choose dorky music sometimes. I don’t think this is one of my “callings”, but if I’m patient (and YOU), I’ll get better at it. That’s my hope. And today, I’ve been thinking about making a slideshow with just still dog portraits, and choosing some kind of music to go with that. Good practice, don’t you think? Would you watch such a thing? You’ll be the first ones to know if I get it done!

I’ve been glad for a couple of quieter days, although I bathed three “bigger” dogs this morning, and then groomed a little old favourite this afternoon:

Mecho

Mecho

Natty went home this morning. I will miss the dear girl.

Natty

Natty

In this photo, she is “speaking” to me, saying, “Please give me that cookie already!”.

I bathed Cooper today, too, as he is going home tomorrow.

Cooper

Cooper

Duke visited for a couple of days:

Duke

Duke

Bodhi got a bath in preparation for going home, too.

Bodhi

Bodhi

Willis is here until tomorrow. He’s so humble in front of the camera. Anxious, too, to get his cookie.

Willis

Willis

I’ve been enjoying a visit from Jasper, as well. He has grown into such a fine adult dog:

Jasper

Jasper

I don’t have much else to report. Because of the schedule of clients coming and going, I haven’t left home for three whole days! I need to get mail and groceries and make a trip to the “transfer station”, so I imagine that will happen tomorrow.

Things are good here. I miss my daughters terribly and all of the time,  and sometimes spend long reveries in the past. Even so, the present and the future seem terrific.

We had some bad news in our town again this week. A 57 year old man died suddenly of a heart attack, and I believe he had no history of medical problems. I don’t know the family well, but as I am about to turn 59, I find this event particularly sobering. I feel very empathetic toward those who were closer to Ralph, of course.

Thank you so much for reading my blog and looking at my new website,  www.pethostel.ca .  I have been working on it, but not making many changes that will be visible to the readers. You will find that, when you visit the pet galleries, most pictures will open into a BIGGER photo of the animal. It takes some patience to fix photos and upload them, and “link” them to the thumbnails in the galleries; I make mistakes and have to go over and over my work.

I have a customer driving in the driveway, so will say goodnight. ~ Love, Ann

Leave a comment