Life and Pets

Friday …

Yesterday, after deciding that I was steadily recovering from my cold, I jumped in the vehicle with Shelly, who was going into Prince George for an appointment.

She got to the dentist on time and I went through several of the stores across the road from the clinic.

Shelly is diligent about recycling specific items that are not accepted in McBride, so she had a Jeepful. She had other scheduled stops, and as long as I felt I wasn’t upsetting the “program”, I would hit a dollar store nearby or come in to her stores.

At one point she wanted to get takeout pizzas for herself and Adrien. Shelly’s pizza was for her to take to night shift at the hospital.

As we drove, I phoned ‘Lil Ava’s’ to order the two pizzas … and then started to cough uncontrollably. I had to hand the phone to Shelly to state her name and cell number.

Half an hour later, we stopped at Lil Ava’s, and the man who had taken the order asked Shelly, “How is your friend??”

“Oh … that was my mom and she’s okay now.” 😉👍

Isn’t it impressive that the nice pizza guy asked?

The day went by too fast and my darling was almost late for work in McBride. But any day spent with Shelly is a pleasant one.

We saw seven black bears on our way home. They are waking up! Each looked plush and smallish and adorable.

Photo poached from Google. ^^^ The ones we saw were smaller and plushier, busy foraging, or basking in the sun.

This morning it still seemed chilly enough to keep the wood fire burning. It is such a comfortable warmth compared to our electric heat, but soon we won’t need either. 🤞

At the Pet Hostel (which has cozy in-floor heat all year ’round) we have Rocky, Carly, and then Macey just for the day.

I am making an exception for some friends and long-time customers to bring their goofy Bernese Mountain Dog for ten days when they go to Mexico. “Stanley“ will arrive this weekend.

Yesterday, while in Prince George but answering my cell phone, I turned down three dogs for boarding. I feel guilty. I’m often asked about alternatives for pet care, and I haven’t got any suggestions.

But it is still a relief not to have that tightness/pain in my chest. That’s the short version: I don’t want to be hyperbolic or histrionic. 🤷🏼‍♀️

Hope your day is as relaxed as possible too.

Love, Ann

Leave a comment