Life and Pets

Thursday …

I don’t even think I reread or edited yesterday’s post, I’ve been in such a fog.

I have been in the grip of a grippe or “just a cold” for a few days, but I think I’ve turned the corner. Feeling better this morning.

Upon waking, I thought I was in real trouble, the body ache was so profound. My headache was unreal. It was only 5:15, but I had gone to bed at 10 pm., so, really, I’d had a full complement of sleep, more than many people manage on their best days.

It was urgent that I get to the bathroom, and then once I was “mobile” I put wood on the fire and went out to the hot tub.

The relief was immediate. One has to be somewhat able-bodied to lift the heavy lid of the spa, and then climb into it. Then I felt like I never wanted to get back out.

As I sat in the jets and bubbles and thought of our many blessings and gifts. Some of these were “hard won” and some were simply the luck of the draw.

When you feel like you’re being watched … you usually are!

At the Pet Hostel, we have only Rocky and Carly, aside from the static population of our own pets.

My one striped hen keeps getting out. I’ll need to devote some energy to finding where she escapes the covered chicken yard. Last night I looked for her in the coop and outside, and finally noticed her roosting twelve feet up in a willow tree. 🤷🏼‍♀️ I have lost at least one of my small flock to a predator lately, so it’s a wonder that the escape artist hasn’t been grabbed.

Hurry up gardening weather! It has been chilly, and just when I was determined to do some more work outside in my winter jacket, I got hit with this cold.

While I’m not caring for so many pets, yard work doesn’t seem a burden … not yet anyway. Gary reminds me that our income tax is due, and that does seem burdensome.

Hope you’re well, with not too many burdens, or that things get better.

Love, Ann

Leave a comment