Life and Pets

Sunday …

Watched the Kentucky Derby yesterday afternoon. I didn’t sit at the TV for hours beforehand, but came in from working in the greenhouse and the yard in time to see all the horses and jockeys, owners and trainers, and there was the usual commentary, trumpet-playing and the singing of ‘My Old Kentucky Home’.

I then fell fast asleep and if Gary hadn’t spoken to me, I would have missed the two minute race!

It was a good one.

This year I didn’t have it in me to wear my hat, nor pose with Gary, or even photograph our hats that we wore when we went to Kentucky in 2013 for the #139th Derby. This year, instead of a mint julep I had an alcohol-free mocktail. 😋👍

But it was all marvelous, almost like being there.

Mystik Dan with a photo-finish victory in the 150th running of the Kentucky Derby on Saturday, May 4, 2024. (AP Photo/Kiichiro Sato)

🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎🐎

Early in the day, I got my pretty green raised garden bed out of its box and put it together. It was simple, though I notice that don’t have the manual dexterity I once had.

Gary had projects too and though he’d have helped if I’d asked, he had faith in me.

Eventually it got quite warm for working in the greenhouse, so I did jobs that took me in and out of that space, plus other things.

After my “rough night”, I felt weary and achy, so I rested often, feeling the sun and breeze on my face. I enjoyed the pets around me too.

Flurry rarely comes outside, but wanted to be close to me.

It felt great to be gardening. It’s too early to put vegetables in the garden as we can still get freezing temperatures.

Gary set up sprinklers for the entire garden. We use water judiciously, but he likes to have a proper system.

Today I have a tiny sweet dog to groom and a couple of favourites for “just nails”.

Then I might be able to get to a bedding plant sale! I also offered to help the friends that I helped on Friday.

☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️

This morning, though I woke up with a headache, I just stood out on the deck and appreciated the gorgeous day.

The birdies are singin’. There was a robin sitting on our sole dog kennel that is in the front yard (I still have a couple of secret runs “out back”), and a hummingbird buzzed over to check me out. The hummer hovered and looked me right in the eye, making me smile …

People in Facebook have been posting that they’ve seen hummingbirds for days. The species ‘Rufous’ is common in the Robson Valley, and beloved by all.

The reason that I usually don’t feed birds is that I’m unreliable. However, there are always many flowers in bloom in our yard, so bees and other nectar-gatherers don’t go hungry.

Is this a cop-out? No, because I’m diligent about having those blooms available, and the natural nectar is more nutritious anyway. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

Right now, there are hundreds of daffodils and other jonquils blooming, and the tulips are ready to start.

Just a few of many …

I always think of my dad at this time, when so many spring bulbs are bursting forth. It’s not that he and I talked very much about flowers, but this: the autumn that he was dying in Calgary, I had ordered tons of fall bulbs to sell.

Gary and a treasured friend held a bulb sale in my absence, and though it was well attended, I was left with hundreds to plant here in November. After Dad’s funeral and I returned home, I actually dug through frost to plant all those suckers.

Those many bulbs have multiplied, been moved around, some given away. Some of the fancy varieties have died out, but not the familiar types. Rather than being sad at the reminder of the month of Dad’s passing many years ago, I stand and appreciate all that he gave and all that he was.

On with the day! Hope you find joy in yours too.

Love, Ann

Leave a comment