Just Life / Life and Pets

“And I think to myself, what a wonderful world.” …

Have been lying awake for hours, chasing random thoughts and memories like a terrier after rats. I’ve been awake more time than I’ve slept, and now it’s almost time to get up anyway. Funny thing, as an adult, to have a Saturday morning and not be capable of sleeping in.

I’ve been worrying about people. I can’t watch over everyone I want to watch over. I don’t know what my daughters are doing from day to day, nor my stepdaughter and her family. Younger friends have died lately, and slightly older ones have been getting ill. And vice versa.

I have thought a lot about Culps in the past few weeks. I love all the family. They are long time friends from Dunster, and as younger families, we used to visit quite a lot. I have come to realize that their politics are quite different than mine, but it really doesn’t matter, as we have a lot in common.

Once I left the farm in Dunster and lived another life, I didn’t see as much of Culps. They have had many adventures that I’ve mostly been oblivious to. When I visit at their farm, both Bonnie and Curtis ask me about my family and my changes, and I leave there always feeling built up, less inferior. But I think, “Wait a minute, I didn’t even ask about their travels, or their adult children, or really anything about themselves.”.

Recently, because of a health issue, Culps have “retained” my little house in town. At this time, their youngest grown child lives there with one of her teen children, and the grandson is enrolled for this semester in our local high school. I don’t want to state too much of the family’s story in my blog, but our friend Curtis, the patriarch of the family, tells me that if his health goes “haywire”, he will be glad to stay in McBride to be nearer the hospital.

As I lay awake through the wee hours of this morning, I was thinking how I should “catch up”, visit with Culps more. Then I was thinking how I should catch up with a lot of people more. Gary and I enjoy a quieter life and a small circle of friends, but it’s also good to keep in touch with those in a bigger circle.

“What is the meaning of life?”, Bill used to blurt out periodically. Bill was a manic-depressive boyfriend I had in my teens, who dulled his keen intellect and rapier wit with drugs. I wasted a bunch of time trying to become meaningful in his troubled life, and he has never really made his own happiness. Now we are senior, and neither of us has truly discovered the meaning of life, but I have a happy existence, and by his own admission, Bill is miserable. I’m glad that in more than 40 years, we have had nothing to do with the other.

I guess, as I write this, I’ve decided that we don’t need to know the meaning of life. Do any of us know if this is the only “kick at the cat” we’ve got? If we don’t get another run at this, we simply must trust that we’ve done the best we can, and have our own joy in whatever length of time we’ve got.

Now that it’s almost time to put the coffee on and let the little dog out, my thoughts are hazy. I’ve never professed to be profound, and I’ve only shared a few of my reveries from the last few hours. Alone with these memories and thoughts, I’ve shed a few tears, laughed inwardly, struggled to get comfortable with achy joints and to wait out the heartburn from last night’s Chinese smorg.

Wait a minute … it’s probably indigestion that has kept me awake and thinking. Haven’t saved the world nor anyone in it while I’ve pondered and stewed.

Hope you have a good day, everyone.

“What A Wonderful World”

I see trees of green,
red roses too.
I see them bloom,
for me and you.
And I think to myself,
what a wonderful world. I see skies of blue,
And clouds of white.
The bright blessed day,
The dark sacred night.
And I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow,
So pretty in the sky.
Are also on the faces,
Of people going by,
I see friends shaking hands.
Saying, “How do you do?”
They’re really saying,
“I love you”.

I hear babies cry,
I watch them grow,
They’ll learn much more,
Than I’ll ever know.
And I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.

Yes, I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.

Oh yeah.

perfect cloudy blue sky

2 thoughts on ““And I think to myself, what a wonderful world.” …

Leave a Reply

