Just Life / Life and Pets / Uncategorized

Not sweating small stuff …

Joe Bonamasso has a line in a song, “Might sound  good, but I don’t know that it’s true…”. 

I have often thought that about the adage, “Don’t sweat the small stuff. It’s ALL small stuff.”.

I got a phone call this afternoon from my elderly renter, Rose. I had been thinking that I should visit her, was obliged to check on her, at least to a point, or that I could at least telephone. Trouble is, she complains at some length when I do go there, chiefly that I hadn’t come by for so long. Rose claims that even if I did a “drive-by”, such as running in to say hello while Gary waits in the car, it would be enough. 

I think we all know that wouldn’t suffice. Whether I stop for five minutes or a hour, I’m subjected to guilt trips. And today on the phone she said that she thought I could at least stop occasionally to see if she is alive. 

Rose has told me that she is rarely out of bed before noon (oh, her poor little doggies). Then she told me today that she walks daily to the hospital to find out what is wrong with her, that she is too broke to afford fuel for her car. 

I do agree that I should visit and that I am not much of a friend. Perhaps I can even remind her how fractured my schedule always is, that I’ve had a lot on my plate lately. I cannot confess that there are many with whom I’d rather sit. 

After all, it can be just five minutes now and then, right?

Today (you know, when I was NOT visiting in town) I finished this “pet den”. It’s a vintage side table, ubiquitous in the seventies or eighties, repurposed, painted, waxed and fitted with a fabric pet pillow. Also, temporarily fitted with Sam, the Siamese kitten, who is growing SO fast! 


I didn’t make it too fancy, so that I kept the cost down to resell it. In Facebook, lots of folks have clicked “Like”, but last I looked nobody is buying. 

Thanks for reading my blog … back to television watching with Gary. 

Love, Ann 

Leave a Reply

