Life and Pets

Weary, weary, and TGIF …

This week has seemed busy, and I feel so tired and achy. I didn’t schedule any grooming for today, but instead attended the “Strawberry Tea” (a fund-raising function for the Hospital Auxilliary), shopped a little, and tended to the doggy and kitty guests. For some reason, I didn’t sleep well last night; I went to bed by midnight but then woke at 2, 3, 5 and 6 a.m. and decided to get up about 6:10.

Sometimes I book a lot of work, not wanting to make my customers wait very long. On Wednesday, I groomed four dogs, which really is a small load for other groomers, but plenty for me.

Levi

Levi

Pluto

Pluto

IMG_3738

Maggie spots the guinea pig.

Tito

Tito

They were all darlings… would be hard to say which one was the best part of my day. I am so lucky. The owners were all wonderful people to visit with as well!

Tuesday’s lineup, four more darlings:

Missy

Missy

Riza

Riza

IMG_4851

Hanni

Buddy, with Smokey

Buddy, with Smokey

For the Victoria Day weekend, we had plenty of extra dogs to board. They were all joyful and pleasant; for the most part they ate well and didn’t mind being with us. Several were pretty “vocal” and disturbed our sleep, but sometimes the dogs are communicating with neighbours’ dogs and with coyotes. Just goes with the territory.

On Sunday afternoon, I let the dog Junior go to a new home. I haven’t told anybody, including the RCMP, where he went, but he is enjoying loving care including exercise and the best food. I need to decide whether I am going to try to collect the huge bill owed to me, but I worry about the small claims process. I do not want to sit with the dog’s former owner in front of a judge, but that would be a part of it.

On the weekend, we had Buddy R., Clemina & Wally, Stella, Danny, Junior, Gadget, Lily, Bella, Keisha, Oscar, Smudge, Sadie and Nellie. By Tuesday, many of these great souls had gone home, and others had arrived. During the week, we had Timber & Duke, Smudge, Shadow, Lucy, Tucker, Rory, and Tank. We also have another Lucy, a darling little black & white cat, and Oscar went home but came back for the weekend. Oh! and Max the parrot is here for a few days. Hunter is here overnight.

Hunter

Hunter

On Thursday, I bathed Clemina and Wally. They are large dogs, and though they are respectful, neither wanted to step onto my lift table even when it was down to 20″. At least they let me lift them, front end first and then the back end. I think my days of bathing any dog outdoors is over, but once any of the big guys are on the table, it is usually fairly easy to get them to step into (and out of) the tub, with encouragement. I brushed and combed Clemina quite thoroughly, and Wally not very much, and I will only charge according to the hours that I put into the jobs. At least they are now sparkling white!

IMG_2859

I’ve been hobbling around like I’m 90 years old. Early in the week, just as I started my day, I was standing right outside the back door of our house. I was appreciating the sweet smells of spring, assessing the outdoor doggy population from where I stood, and from across the yard came a grey streak. Smokey SLAMMED into my leg! Smokey is my smallest cat, dainty, friendly and not generally rambunctious, so what a surprise that she became such a missile. The little cat seemed unhurt and unfazed. Now THIS part is truly difficult to believe … my ankle has hurt ever since and has felt worse instead of better. This is on the same limb as my broken toe which still bothers me.

I told Gary that I must either be getting frail, or my good fortune and luck is running out. Tank, a young adult german shepherd, head-butted me by accident in mid-week, and I thought I was going to have to take some time off. No such luxury … the schedule was full and I didn’t want to get behind. I had to push myself a bit.

Tomorrow there are, I think, three yard sales to attend! I have booked myself the time to be away from home… instead of “gone fishing”, I will leave a note on the door, “gone to yard sales”. There is really nothing I need, but I am too curious to stay away.

I talked to the contractor who will build the new house in town … it’s getting closer! He is leaving for a few days to visit family in the States, but should be ready to get at the job steadily when he gets back. I’m very excited, but have calmed myself, as this is already a few weeks after the date I thought the building would start. My enthusiasm is tempered by concern about the cost, and insecurity about how it will all turn out.

I’m tired, the TV is loud right now, can’t concentrate on chatting here. I’m glad to know you visit me in this blog.

Love, Ann

 

Leave a Reply

