Life and Pets

Happy Passover, Good Friday, and lovely Easter Weekend …

Yesterday was a good day too, and this morning has been stellar.

I made matzo ball soup for my Gary for lunch. Some other kind of Passover meal will be served tonight, although not a proper Seder. Not this year.

IMG_3232

A friend who bought up the last of my crabapple jelly (someone had requested a whole batch and then could not/would not collect it!) asked me if I make mint jelly. Done! I am open to requests when I can sell entire batches at a time.

IMG_3229

There has been a manageable influx in doggy guests this morning. I haven’t taken pics of them all, but here are a few (and some who were already here):

Gus

Gus

Stella

Stella

Smudge

Smudge

Bella

Bella

Ghost

Ghost

Gracie

Gracie

Dotty

Dotty

Zeus

Zeus

Norton

Norton

As well, we have Boston and Rusty, Squeaker and Kelef, Hunter, Junior,  and Lucy. Tomorrow Shadow Z. and Lichen will arrive, and Lucy will have gone home.

Just now, I got a phone call about some black dogs standing at our driveway near the highway. YIKES! They are dogs who are staying at our neighbours’ house, as it turns out. I don’t want our reputation nicked by people thinking “our” dogs are on the road, and nobody wants carnage! As my most recent customers drove in, they heard my friends calling their daughter’s dogs back to their house.

Gary has been forging some decorative things in his shop! He is donating these to the Ducks Unlimited auction later this month. I have put in a request for a few of these beauties for the proposed new house. Sure, they will be used by someone else for some part of the future, but they will add to the cool artsiness of the home. At least, that’s my intention.

IMG_3175

Yesterday, while I was vacuuming, I was dismayed to realize that our antique china cabinet door is BROKEN. This is going to be a delicate operation to replace the glass. I am not going to look at it again until it’s not so busy in the kennels. It was just a matter of time… for years I’ve worried about our heavy chair being very close to the glass, and now this finally happened. The piece of furniture is actually a “physician’s cabinet” which belonged to my maternal grandfather, who was a doctor of theology and not a physician.

IMG_3174

Seems like we are going to have a few barkers this weekend. I hope for my own sake, Gary’s and all of our neighbours’ sakes that I can maintain a bit of calm…

We are expecting our Shelly to visit, and I hope to hear from the rest of the gang. XXX

Hope you all have a pleasant few days, no matter what your Holiday weekend involves.

Love,

Ann

Leave a Reply

