Dogs and Hobbies / Dogs and Life / Hobbies and Dogs / Life and Taxes

Happy Sunday, Sunshine …

It’s a most gloomy, wet day! I mean, of course, the weather … everything else is sunny and gay. I mean, bright and happy.

IMG_3064

New Crocusses

We just got back from Sunday breakfast, and it is past noon. None of us at our brunch club had anything too pressing to accomplish today, though there is only so much coffee we can drink. Once we’re all home again we can find “rainy day projects” to be busy at.

Here’s an update on the colander pendant lamp project. It’s finished and it WORKS (didn’t scorch an outlet or anything). I wired in a plug in and temporary switch so that I can satisfy myself that it does work and looks beautiful, particularly at night. It is hanging, for now, in my kennel building.

IMG_3045

My Gary points out that it looks like a colander with a light bulb in it, which is exactly what it is. I’m not sure it will look right in the new house, in which case it can be removed as fast as it is installed: I might even keep the plugin on the end of the cord and not “hard-wire” it in. It might be too quirky or fun to put into the brand new home. My one regret at this time is, in my zealous plan to paint my project “kubota orange”, I scuffed up the finish on the colander with coarse sand paper. Now I think that I want to keep the lamp this beautiful chili red, so I will live with the scratches unless I want to repaint it chili red. Considering that the entire cost of the colander pendant lamp was only the cost of the light wire cable which supports it (under $3) in order to have it hang precisely 30″ from the 9′ ceiling, I am proud of my innovation and frugality. I didn’t pay for the colander, the electric wire, wire connectors, lamp socket and replacement longer screws, or even the little brass gizmos that the cable attaches to: these were all in my “collections”. To buy something commercially made that looks just like this costs $50 or much, much more.

IMG_3015IMG_0264

Search “colander lamp” in Google Images. I said earlier that I couldn’t find a YouTube video which showed me “How to…”, but I guess I hadn’t thought to just google the terms: there are hundreds of thousands of images. My “own” idea was not unique at all! Also pictured above is the lamp I made for the chicken house, from a beat-up colander inherited from a friend.

We have such a nice bunch boarding with us this weekend. You’ve already met some of these great dogs: Jasper and Timber, Junior, Tippy, Scruffy, Larkin, and Gus. That is all for now, but next weekend is Easter and it will be quite busy. This coming week is starting to fill up for grooming as well. They say that if we find a career we love, we never really work a day in our lives.

I always love babysitting “Gus”. He is a small shih tzu with wonderful manners: gentle and quiet, well adjusted, affectionate. I sat with Gus on his large bed within his spacious run yesterday. After I laid down beside him, I fell fast asleep. I “came to” enough to take his picture, but Gus looks a bit disturbed by the intrusion of the camera… perhaps he also had been asleep.

By the way, as a point of interest, I was reading last month about a kennel who has staff who “sleep with the dogs”. The base rate is $58/day.

IMG_3061

On Saturday, I provided daycare and grooming for this sweet dog, a “schnoodle”. Shadow is a schnauzer-poodle cross as you might have guessed. His owners seemed that I made the puppy into a schnauzer with what I would call “a big-boy haircut”. Isn’t he handsome?

IMG_3051

At breakfast time, I averred that today I would go back to working on taxes. I can at least get the GST filed; I intend to be on time for the rest of the tax return as well. Wish me luck. Please. Seriously.

Hope you are all doing well, hopefully happy, content and healthy.

Love, Ann

Leave a Reply

