Dogs and Life / Life and Pets / Warning! Graphic Content

Saturday again, so soon?

How did a whole week go by without me chatting to you, my friends?

Had a pretty interesting Saturday, I have to say. I’ve become pretty passionate about “the new house” again, and made a bigger scale-model floor plan to dream and scheme by. I can share the photo of my drawing, not that you will be able to see much detail. I’m showing you a picture, not asking for a critique of the plan. 🙂
IMG_2848

Where I had the space to put out “the drawing board” is actually the cats’ territory, which is pretty much any flat surface in my kennel building. Jack was trying to help, and one can also see quite a few cat paw prints on the drawing, as they traipse in and out of the shop, through mud and rain.

IMG_2803

I met TWO new bull mastiffs this week, unrelated to each other. This is Java, from Lethbridge, Alberta:

Java

Java

Ajax

Ajax

Java’s owner politely asked me not to put her in with “any mean dogs”. True to my word, I did not! Then Ajax came for just a meet-and-greet for the first time, and at 7 months, he too is quite bashful and timid. We always do our best to ensure that no pets intimidate any others!

Ajax meets Java

Ajax meets Java

On Wednesday I groomed Baxter, a perennial favourite. Then I had a lovely lunch with a friend, a high point in the week.

Baxter

Baxter

We had Willis with us for a few days. Willis is a busy Jack Russell Terrier, and I try to provide activity that alleviates potential boredom:

Willis & Lady wait for ball

Willis & Lady wait for ball

Today turned out to be pretty fascinating, if unnerving. After I worked on the house plan for the morning, and had lunch with Gary, I groomed Petunia:

Petunia2015

And THEN… the pièce de résistance  of my day. For a number of months, poor little Diva has been left with (dogsat by) some people who did not realize her urgent need for veterinary care. I told these acquaintances that I didn’t understand how they could stand the smell of her mouth, let alone the infected tumour on her ear flap. I also said that her “regular” grooming was long overdue … that she was matted all over and her dewclaws were so long that they were grown around and pressing on her pads. They said that they had been waiting for permission from the owners before seeing about both grooming and “having that boil looked at”. UGH There’s no excuse. I’ve known of dead people who had made more provision for their pet.

Tumour before cleaning

Tumour before cleaning

Soaking tumour

Soaking tumour

Tumour clean

Tumour clean

Happy Diva

Happy Diva, despite tumour

The surrogate caregivers promise that they are taking Diva to the vet as soon as they can get an appointment. They told me, “That thing didn’t seem to bother her…” . I told them to tell the owners that I would adopt this dog, but I doubt whether that will come to pass.

So once I was finished making Diva as pretty as possible despite the growth on her pinna, I felt like I was wearing tumor juice (serum and pus) everywhere. After the darling little dog was picked up, I had a shower, and now I’m exhausted.

“Ring, ring…”.   Just as I was starting to eat supper, a customer phoned, asking me if I “finger the dogs”. I thought it was a joke. He was actually asking me if I check anal glands. I said to Gary that it was a good thing my stomach is strong … today has been quite a test!

Tonight’s boarding roster: Pepper & Sunny, Zippy, Tippy, Wally & Clemina, Gus, Roxy and Abby. That is all.

Love you!

Ann

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

