Dogs and Life / Just Life / Life and Pets

Queen for a day…

I enjoyed such a wonderful weekend, celebrating my 60th birthday. Shelly, Susan and Kim were here, and they were the only family who came, but since they are the air I breathe, their visit MADE the occasion… along with Gary being here and orchestrating the Saturday night party, of course.

IMG_2655

I look kinda fat and old, but I feel like a million, believe me.

I’ve had some “ordinary” workdays since the big birthday. The girls all had to leave on Sunday, then the day was pretty quiet, filled with the care of dogs. We had leftovers for dinner, and Gary was sad that there wasn’t any Indian Butter Chicken or naan left from our feast on Friday night with the girls, but what we had filled the gap and wasn’t any work for the “birthday girl”. I think I will have to work Butter Chicken into the regular menu ie., serve it more often.

Today, I’m feeling somewhat let-down. A customer who goes back-and-forth between me and my competition has cancelled for the third time. Her reasons are valid for HER, but I am starting to feel frustrated. I even offered to come and pick up the dog.

We have just a small population at the Pet Hostel today. Pullo has come back: he’s a happy boy, though his owners are perpetually anxious.

IMG_1632

IMG_2552

Above: Tippy looking all grown up! I’ve kept Tippy for a week and groomed her. Tippy’s owner is a senior friend of mine and needs my help and my friendship right now, and I am glad to give Dorothy a “break”.

IMG_9422

IMG_0881

Hunter

We had a few others come and go since I last posted to my Blog, and there will be more this weekend.

As I watched the news this morning, a segment came on about a doggy hotel in Vancouver. I feel jealous and frustrated and oddly threatened. I listened, and observed the elegant facility… 10,000 square feet! There are large rooms, not surprisingly, and an outdoor water park. Large dogs run around together and small dogs play in separate packs, there are doggy beds everywhere for each dog to choose for napping. Overnight staff were actually pictured sleeping on the floor WITH dogs! Sweet!

I imagine that anyone would want to leave their pet in this kind of facility … other than folks who have a dog who is aggressive with other dogs. “Cage-free” is a pretty cool concept to most owners. The doggy hotel that was on the news costs $58 per night for the basic room, and up from there of course for suites or multiple dogs, plus tax.

You might imagine that I wish I could have built a bigger Pet Hostel. Even so, when one thinks that to build new (even in our area), a basic building costs $100 to $150 per square foot, you will assume that there was no way I could have invested more than I did. A few folks have been quite thrown by my price increase from $15 to $17, plus the addition of GST..  I like “helping people”, so I believe I couldn’t help very many folks for $58/day, no matter what I had invested.

I will have to let go of the angst and envy. The other boat just won’t float in my community. I’ll continue to do the very best I can.

This weekend was like a German Shepherd convention! We had favourites Jasper (with his new sister Timber) and Festus. We also had blast-from-the past Sasha, who I hadn’t seen for over a year, and her purebred puppy, Miqua.

Jasper

Jasper

Festus

Festus

IMG_2586

Sasha

 

Miqua

Miqua

I was asked to groom Miqua and Sasha. The big one year old puppy got a bath and was difficult to handle even to walk on leash. Sasha I couldn’t handle successfully at all: after I got her on a lead, she pulled me over and attacked darling McKenna, so back into the kennel she went. The owners simply laughed at my explanation about that, not asking if I was hurt, or the little old dog. I was somewhat hurt, but McKenna seems fine. There is a little more to the story, but I can’t whine about it in my public blog.

On Saturday afternoon, I groomed an old, old favourite, Kipper. His “big brother” is Turf, and Turf only needed his toenails clipped. The Great Dane was nervous but okay with stepping onto my lift table as long as I was already sitting on it! I imagine that was a hilarious sight: me atop my dandy new grooming table along with the giant dog, and me trying to hold him on it while I sneaked off it.

Kipper

Kipper

Turf

Turf

Timber

Timber

Through the week, I had some other lovelies to groom or babysit.

Katie

Katie

Susan with baby Gracie

Susan with baby Gracie

IMG_2529

Maggie

Odie

Odie

IMG_2535

Smokey comforts little old Tazz

Maggie

Maggie

Oh goodness! I’d best get on with my day. I have the doggy guests taken care of. Now I have managed to fill the vacancy left by my other customer cancelling.

Love, Ann

Leave a Reply

