Life and Pets

Hurray for Sunday …

Don’t know why I love Sunday almost as much as Thursday. The way life has been lately, ANY day of the week is awesome. So there you go … call me Pollyanna.

My cup runneth over. Even the most mundane days are good ones, most weeks. I had a few dogs to groom and some to board since I last posted, and the cuteness and lovability factor is over-the-top.

Nellie

Nellie

Sadie

Sadie

Timber

Timber

Jasper

Jasper

Niko

Niko

Willow

Willow

Snowy

Snowy

Shadow

Shadow

Ghost

Ghost

Patchy

Patchy

Meecho

Meecho

Gracie

Gracie

IMG_8104

Carly

IMG_1668

Murphy

Ginger

Ginger

Zippy

Zippy

Baxter

Baxter

Squeak

Squeak

Willis watching

Willis watching

Cole

Cole

Spike

Spike

Shadow

Shadow

Seltzer

Seltzer

Maya

Maya

I didn’t even get a picture of every pet! My heart is so full. And then there are our own (including Shelly’s older dog who has retired here):

McKenna

McKenna

Lady & McKenna

Lady & McKenna

Gilbert

Gilbert

Prin

Prin

Smokey

Smokey

Foster Cat Jack

Foster Cat Jack

IMG_6639

Did I forget any “permanent” residents? Shall I include the horse and the chickens? That’s about “it” for the “lifers”:

Bud

Bud

Anastasia, Belinda, Catherine, Daphne, Elizabeth, Felicia

Anastasia, Belinda, Catherine, Daphne, Elizabeth, Felicia

We had some very sad news in the pet world … in MY pet world. Tasha was killed by a car while walking with her beloved and loving owner last week. I will miss her.

IMG_7524

When not too busy with pets, I occasionally do something somewhat creative. This week I devised a protective “grill” for the front of Gary’s truck. This should keep a rock from going through the radiator until he gets a “real” repair job.

IMG_1869

Grate from discarded fridge

Grate cut to fit and attached to truck.

Grate cut to fit and attached to truck.

I’ve been glued to a television series that is available on Netflix, “Breaking Bad”. I’ve seen it all the way through, for the most part, but now that I’m watching it again, I’m seeing episodes and scenes that I swear I didn’t see before. It’s addictive… a fine thing to do when the weather is inclement, and not so much when I should be doing something productive.

Since the New Year, I have also caught up to my late income taxes and the resulting bill. At least, I believe that I have, and am still waiting for Notices of Assessment. I had a substantial bill to pay, that I will willingly submit (if not GLADLY), as that is life … the government is entitled to part of your well-earned money.

Beside my work/business, I thought that if I sell a bunch of items on Facebook, I might be able to subsidize this tax bill. I’ve sold quite a few little pieces of jewellery, none of great value, but I keep telling myself that it all helps. It’s all “nickle-and-dime” stuff, relatively speaking, and sometimes it is a hassle to meet/deliver/wait for people, no matter how pleased I am with a sale. It’s also sobering to become aware, all over again, of a stage of wasteful impulse buying that lasted only a few weeks and ended suddenly … years ago. I have tried not to catch any such addictions in recent years; I have run my own intervention.

IMG_1785IMG_0802IMG_1759IMG_0800IMG_0804

Tonight we’re going to Robbie Burns Night at our local restaurant, Morels. Haggis is optional, and I think I already have hurt the chef’s feelings by saying I wouldn’t eat it. There will also be roast beef and whiskey.

Road trip tomorrow! Gary and I are going into Prince George for medical appointments. I have not been away from McBride for many months … almost a year. This will not be the occasion for shopping, movies, or overnight, but it’s still a “date” away from home, if only for the day.

That’s it for now! Sorry I left it so long before posting.

Love, Ann

The beautiful weathervane that my daughters and I bought for Gary:

IMG_1603

Leave a Reply

