Dogs and Life / Life and Pets

Gloom …

Nothing terrible happened, but I sure didn’t have my usual groove today. The weather was sharp and breezy, until it was dark and rainy. Winter is coming and I wish we could just get on with it … the gloomy dampness and biting wind are oppressive.

I just couldn’t seem to get my mojo going at any point. The day started extra early, as I told a customer who’s working near here that he could bring the dogs at 6:30 instead of 7:00. The man cheerfully told me that he starts his day at 4 am. normally, and I countered that he probably doesn’t stay up until 1 am. as I do.

Robbie & Pearlita

Robbie & Pearlita

Pearlita shows off

Pearlita shows off

I was sweeping kennels and allowed a large, cute doggy guest to wander around the kennel building. As I worked, I was deep in thought, but suddenly realized there was an altercation … the dog had cornered my little black cat and was definitely trying to cause her harm. She was fighting back but had nowhere to go! So I yelled and reached the dog in two strides, attempting to break up the attack, and then the dog came after ME with bared teeth. I yelled again and ordered her back into her big kennel, onto her bed, admonishing her but not getting too close. What a disrespectful dog! She looked a little contrite, but I was not going to put my hand near those pearly whites. I was shaken, but thank goodness, the cat didn’t have any apparent injuries. Prin was shaken too. The dog has put scars on her owner’s arms, so I should consider myself forewarned.

IMG_8195

I haven’t kept up with my sharing of beloved guests, have I? Here are Xena and Chloe, who abide in the same household. Click on any of these photos to enlarge them.

Xena

Xena

Chloe

Chloe

Snowy

Snowy

Cleo

Cleo

Joey

Joey

I cared for TWO Weimaraners in one week!

Jayda

Jayda

Oscar

Oscar

And several more blondes:

Cedar

Cedar

Hunter

Hunter

Akili

Akili

MuffyFromCrescentSpur

Muffy

Muffin

Muffin

Rolo

Rolo

Lucky

Lucky

Duke

Duke

Larkin, a mellow malemute:

LarkinDarr2014Larkin2014

I wish I could arrange the photos in a proper gallery, the way I can with my website. In this blog,  I am able to have two pictures side-by-side only if I don’t put a “caption” in the file… that is, if I don’t name the dog. That’s not as much fun! I’m overdue for working on my Pet Hostel website, and that is where I’ve parked HUNDREDS of pictures of my furred or feathered best friends.

Tippy, the little sheltie pup, is staying for a couple of days, too, and I need to get a new portrait of her.

I seemed to have talked myself out of my funk while visiting with you! I was feeling very sad and second-guessing myself this morning and all day over something. I told my oldest daughter, Shelly, that I couldn’t adopt a little dog that belongs to one of her palliative clients. She texted me to say that this pet is a cutie like my Callie was… the sweet pomeranian who died in the Spring.

Also during this day, I had some human clients who didn’t show me much respect. That’s all I’m going to say in my public blog, and I’ve been chastised by some for saying too much in the past. I WILL say that I’m glad this day is coming to a close.

Take care of yourselves. Thank you for reading my blog.

~ Ann

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

