Dogs and Life

Some days are just blonde…

That is simply a play on the fact that we have four blondish dogs staying with us this weekend. I still didn’t get you a picture of “Lucky”, who has been with us almost three weeks because his owner is in hospital. Maybe tomorrow.

These are the three other blondies:

Stella, Princess and Ule visit

Stella, Princess and Ule visit

At the time I took the photo, Stella is with me in the biggest exercise yard, and Princess and Ule are each in their own large runs.

Stella explores the big courtyard

Stella explores the big courtyard

Princess

Princess

Ule

Ule

We also have Joey staying with us. You’ve met him:

IMG_9848

Also TJ:

IMG_8222

TJ

I have a new friend, a 7 month old German Shepherd who didn’t make the “cut” at Innisfail, Alberta, as a police dog. He just didn’t have the drive to be aggressive. I’ll try to get his picture for you tomorrow.

I’ve had no trouble with “Tank”, but when my back was turned, he DID jump high enough to reach the baby monitor (previously employed to watch restless new boarders during the night). He had the device on his bed with the cord chewed in no time! I haven’t had time to examine the damage to see if it can be fixed.

As many of you know, Gary went to his Conference in Chilliwack this October, as usual, and then to see Beth & Mike in Nelson. He returned with a new toy, an amazing, powerful forge: just the thing for a talented farrier to make custom horseshoes and perhaps decorative things like hoof picks and coat hooks!

IMG_0762

This afternoon, I managed to make a break for town, after being home and available for customers and pets at home. I took recycling and garbage to where it needed to go, returned library books and found new ones, and made various other stops, accomplishing quite a lot in a short time.

At one of my stops, I ran into a treasured friend with whom I don’t get to visit often enough. She told me that she had heard that “Ann tore down her house.”! Evidently either the person telling the story didn’t realize that we demolished a dilapidated house on 4th avenue, or they didn’t realize that they had misled Val. My friend was quite relieved to learn that our house at the acreage was still standing: it’s not a mansion, but hardly bulldoze-worthy to us! Small towns, eh?

Because I have drawn the house I envision for the lot on 4th avenue, I returned the house plan books to the library and to Home Hardware. I may borrow them back one day, but I don’t really think so. It’s amusing to me that a “small home” is still considered one that is under 2000 square feet; this means that in large volumes of plan books, I might find only two or three that even fit my scheme. After awhile, the plans all swim before my eyes anyway.

I came home with books on “tiny houses”, not because I plan a tiny home for our vacant lot, but because it is easier to see the efficiency and economy of space that is possible in something under 900 square feet. I also checked out a couple of books on kitchen cupboard building, not because I actually plan to build the cabinets, but because there are wonderful pictures of storage possibilities. I am fortunate to have this project to work on, and I tackle it with a mixture of wild enthusiasm and trepidation.

Today was Susan’s 34th birthday! I remember the day rather well.

I was charged with checking on a neighbour’s cow… the animal was prone to something called “milk fever” after having each calf. I found the big holstein in distress and bloating on a small hillside in the barnyard, and felt that there was no time to lose: I simply HAD TO roll the cow into a position where she was less likely to suffocate while I found help.

Long story short … I rolled the cow over with psychology and ropes, and then made a phonecall (to a farmer who could come and administer I.V. calcium). That was mid-afternoon. At about supper time, I felt the first pangs of what I thought was probably labour (remember, I had only done this once before!). At 10:00, Susan made her grand, but not too difficult entry into the world: another pretty little girl for us!

SusanWithLucy1981SusanInVernon

I don’t think I shared the pictures of any of the dogs I had visiting last weekend or groomed through the week:

Rocky & Spike

Rocky & Spike

Zippy

Zippy

Pepper

Pepper

Bandit

Bandit

Onus

Onus

While Gary was away, I thought that I might be able to accomplish some great thing, or at least a bit of mischief. Instead, and this is rare for me, I was under-the-weather with a cold for most of the week. I cared for all the other beings in my care, but did little else. I did get out for lunch with a friend and Sunday brunch too, but no dinners and drinks on the town. Oh well, I can always have a date like that with Gary!

Earlier today, I thought that there was more that I should share with you. Now it’s midnight again, and my mind is fading.

Hope you are all well and happy.

Love, Ann

Leave a Reply

