Life and Pets

TGIF!

I don’t even know why I love the weekends. If I had a “real” job, I would know why I celebrate Fridays and the weekends. If I even have a slacker day, it’s because I resolutely scheduled it that way, or booked time with myself to attend a yard sale, go for coffee, or whatever. Of course, I always look forward to Sunday brunch with friends… it’s almost inviolable.

One of the huge benefits to working for myself is that I can work any hour of any day, and also “book time” to relax or read or run into town. If the business is busy, it is more difficult to get away for very long, and almost impossible to go away very far! Gary will mind the home and Hostel very well, but I hate to put that on him too much, as he is busy with his own work and projects.

Just now I decided that I had a few minutes to make dear hubby a banana cream pie… I had the ingredients, so “why not?”. It was a tossup between coconut cream and banana cream, but coconut keeps and bananas don’t. I like to plan ahead so that food isn’t wasted. I like to plan ahead to do something nice for long-suffering hubby, too. đŸ˜‰

Speaking of wasted food, I was horrified to see that a part-wheelbarrow load of potatoes has become GREENISH! I had them parked out of the sun and covered with a thick comforter. Evidently, they were not shielded enough from the light. There is more than one layer, and I see that some are not green at all, so I will process those and compost the rest. Pfft … my own negligence. On the upside, we have enough potatoes processed and in the freezers to last us until next year’s crop. We prefer rice anyway. *shrug*

I am thrilled to see that WordPress, the people who make this Blog possible, have adjusted something so that my photos end up where I want them in a “post”. For awhile, every picture I uploaded ended up at the top. This meant that I had to physically move every one to the spot in the blog post where the picture was wanted, and not only that, but the caption would not come with it. None of this makes any difference to how you view and read my posts, but makes things less tedious for me.

Bear

Bear

Gus

Gus

Katie

Katie

IMG_6064

Sam

That’s right, only four boarders today, unless someone has another “on short notice”. We like and appreciate last-minute bookings, and understand that people cannot always plan ahead or remember to phone.

As always, if you would like to see the bigger image, just click on the one I’ve posted here.

Today is Yom Kippur, a Jewish holiday. It is a day of fasting and atonement. Gary and I do not do the fasting part, and atonement is nothing unusual for my days. My brother-in-law posted this lovely sentiment in Facebook:

To those I may have wronged,
I ask forgiveness.
To those I may have helped,
I wish I did more.
To those I neglected to help,
I ask for understanding.
To those who helped me,
I sincerely thank you.
G’mar Chatima Tova!
Wishing you an easy, fast and meaningful Yom Kippur.

 

Must run … even just four darling guests need their share of custom loving and attention.

Love, Ann

 

 

Leave a Reply

