Life and Pets

A close call…

In the grand scheme of things, this is a comical incident, but I’ll tell you what made MY morning interesting!

As Gary left for work this morning, I started a batch of bread. I set up the yeast, sugar and warm water, and forgot all about it for awhile while I took care of Odie, Hunter, Seltzer and Maya, and the rest, fed the chickens and puttered about. Then I remembered the yeast, so I returned to the kitchen to mix the dough.

The ground flax that I thought I’d use in the mix this time was out in the freezer which lives in our greenhouse. I opened the door to the freezer … GASP! Everything in the freezer was thawed. The food was all still icy cold, but thawed.

It was my fault, but I’m not clear how I accidentally unplugged the freezer when I intentionally unplugged the little greenhouse heater three days ago. This discovery kicked me into high gear; I glanced at the clock: still an hour and a half before dogs arrived for grooming!

I turned on the stove AND the barbecue, and after a couple of hours, I had five roasted chickens, four pounds of browned stew beef, seasoned cooked ground beef for burritos or chili, and a barbecued salmon. The berries, pepperoni and salami I felt comfortable refreezing.

Now I have all this prepared food ready to be used in other dishes, and I feel fortunate that nothing was spoiled or wasted. If I had not gone looking for the flax, I’m sure that all the contents of the freezer would have been lost.

Then the dogs arrived and I groomed one. I went back to the kitchen and made a “sponge” for the bread, adding about half the flour and my creative mixture of nuts and other grains to the liquid. And then I got busy again.

After I groomed the second dog, I tore into town to buy some suitable containers to package up larger quantities of the roast chicken (I had already put away the other meats and the fish). After handling six large cooked birds, I felt a little woozy and put together a relatively simple dinner of chicken fajitas and beef tacos. Oh yes.. and I eventually got the bread baked.

It seemed hectic for a few hours around here, and I thought that I was lucky it didn’t happen when I had 20 boarding dogs and cats. When Gary returned from work, I was about as unruffled as a wifey can be.

Shelly came home from a visiting tour of sorts; she put on lots of miles and saw some great people. My days are truly blessed when I have not only Gary, but my lovely daughters around me.

I took a picture of the two busy little dogs that I groomed, but I don’t have my iPhone cord handy to download the photos.

Remember that I said I was readying the hen house for winter? The little light is on a timer, and produces a tiny amount of warmth, but mainly it is for convincing a chicken to lay eggs while the days are shorter. I did the math (researched online) in order to set the timer, but I can’t explain it now.

I used an aluminum colander that I got free from the estate sale of our friend Werner. Werner was a frugal German fellow, not old when cancer claimed him. For some reason I felt quite amused to think of anyone draining their macaroni through this awful, beat-up strainer. It was thin, missing a leg, and had holes in it bigger than most pasta. I don’t know anyone that is very comfortable even using aluminum for food handling these days.

At any rate, I don’t mean to mock my late friend. I picked up the colander with the idea of making a shroud for the hühnerhaus (henhouse) light. In the end, I was pleased with my invention, and I’ll remember Werner fondly.

IMG_0264

Goodnight, my friends. Thank you for reading my blog.

Love, Ann

 

 

Leave a Reply

