Life and Pets

Happy Monday

I know… that’s lame.

As I go through every day (as I claim to be working and oh so busy), I think of what I’ll write to you in my blog. That is DAILY, and yet when I get to supper time and later, I lose my muse, inspiration and energy to write. I’m thinking of you, my friends, but sometimes I simply can’t write.

Thanks in large part to the Robson Valley Music Festival, we had extra dogs boarding for the weekend. On Saturday, I elected to groom two little dogs; this was my choice, as I was asked to do them “…today or Sunday”, and I didn’t want to groom Sunday nor make the owners wait for next weekend. So I pushed myself a bit more, and at that time there were 26 dogs here. All under control!

As of tonight, half of the dogs have been picked up, and a couple more are expected tomorrow. I feel like I’m “in my element”, which, of course, is how it should be after 30 years in the same business.  I love the pets and enjoy the people, with very few exceptions.

Aside from dog care, there is always yard work and home maintenance. At this time of the summer, there is a lot of harvest to take care of.

We have marketed more than 220 pounds of garlic (that is Gary’s  forté), and I’m freezing peas, carrots, potatoes, kohlrabi, greens and beans.  The corn looks like it will produce a few ears. The raspberry crop was abundant this year, and I worked hard to give much of it away. We used to have a bigger garden, and I would take produce to the farmer’s markets. I’d make and sell hundreds of jars of jam and other preserves, and now I make very little. I’m happy with this new status quo: I visit the Markets when I can, but we grow only enough produce for ourselves, and the beautiful garlic to sell.

Gary is visiting family and attending a reunion in Manitoba this week. I miss him every minute, but I confess that I’ve been too busy to be sad … or even nervous about being alone. My darling Susan is in the vicinity, but is likely too busy (and exhausted from working at the Festival) to come out from Dunster.

**************************

Some hours have passed since I started this post. Even more dogs have gone home. I’ll share pictures of a few who were boarding, and some who came for grooming last week. Our internet service is quirky again tonight … we’ll see how it goes.

Josie

Josie

Kipper

Kipper

Reyna

Reyna

Willow

Willow

Benji

Benji

Lady

Lady

Mardy

Mardy

Chica & Norman

Chica & Norman

Bella

Bella

Charlie

Charlie

Roper

Roper

 

Bandit

Bandit

 

Shortie

Shortie

Pal

Pal

Cloe

Cloe

Wabi

Wabi

Xena

Xena

Maggie

Maggie

Niska, Wabi & Opal's son

Niska: Wabi & Opal’s son

Opal

Opal

That’s a lot, eh? I’m in my glory, every day.

Love, Ann

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

