Life and Pets

A “full house” …

By last night, we had 25 dogs, two cats and a parrot boarding. This does not include Lady and McKenna, or any of our cats. This morning by 7:15, five dogs had gone home: the families were in our town for a wedding and were getting an early start on their return trip.

There was no problem with the 25th dog, who arrived last night at 9; Smudge was given the entire new exercise yard as his kennel. We know Smudge, and I felt that he would settle in to the spacious quarters, with his blanket, food and water. He’s not a noisy guest either.

Smudge

Smudge

 

******************

Having missed a whole day to finish the above draft of a Post, I will just jump in.

My darling littlest girl left this morning after visiting for the weekend. She attended the wedding of a high school friend and had a great time at the function and related activities. We enjoyed her company, as always.

Kim brought Shelly’s two little dogs and Shelly’s roommate’s dog so that Shelly could have a weekend away a from her home in Calgary as well. There were a few extra guests here because of the big Italian wedding in town, and that accounts for the numbers at the Pet Hostel. I’m not sure of the “head count” this morning, but it is far fewer than 25, and oddly quiet at the moment.

Yesterday afternoon when two dogs were picked up, McKenna got pounced on. The whole scene was chaotic, as I had not insisted that the visiting dogs be on leash … I asked if the owner wanted leashes as he strode over the his dogs’ kennel, but I did not state that they must or should be under control. As other kenneled dogs became more vocal and tried to engage the exiting dogs either in play or in a quarrel, suddenly McKenna was under the big dog. As the owners yelled at their dogs, I stood rather stupidly, knowing that to get into the fray could make things worse for our (Shelly’s) little old dog. The smaller dog of the same household jumped in to try to bite McKenna’s fluffy haunch; finally the “guest dogs” took a breather and McKenna ran toward the house, with me calling as cheerily as I could, “Come in the house, McKenna, come in the house!”. As I closed the door behind both of our dogs, and tried to decide what to say to our human visitors, they drove off (having already paid for the dogs’ stay). Whew.. I’m weary just telling the story. Very stressful.

McKenna is not very hurt, but her shoulder and neck area is tender. I feel so sorry that I let that happen to our dear family dog who has “retired” here because it’s so fun and peaceful. Pfft.

As Gary reminds me, the sign that I painted for the Pet Hostel party should be more prominent. I’m thinking perhaps it shouldn’t be quite as polite:

IMG_9627

I can think of other incidents that could have been prevented by an owner having their dog under control … a Saint Bernard pinned tiny Callie (my late, sweet pomeranian) to the ground, a visiting rottweiler cross bit one of my cats (not the first dog to tear off after unsuspecting cats around here), and a German Shepherd female tackled our Lady dog, unprovoked. These events leave everyone stressed, embarrassed, and worried. I must do more to prevent such occurrences.

Otherwise all has been well here (other than having to say goodbye to Kim!). I was going to tell you about the other pet guests this weekend and/or share pics.

Mick

Mick

Cooper

Cooper

Norman & Ty

Norman & Ty

Pelée

Pelée

Opal

Opal

Smokey

Smokey

Rex

Rex

Shadow

Shadow

Buddy

Buddy

Boston

Boston

Huxley

Huxley

Namu

Namu

Festus

Festus

Rosie

Rosie

Petunia & Sierra

Petunia & Sierra

"Super Hero Who Flies With a Cape" aka "Hero", named by a child.

“Super Hero Who Flies With a Cape” aka “Hero”, named by a child.

Seltzer

Seltzer

Maya

Maya

Hoss

Hoss

Sadie

Sadie

Nellie

Nellie

For some reason, I can’t find a picture of Jen’s dog, Caleigh; I believe I have one but it must have been left unlabelled in iPhoto, which now has 11,000 photos.

Then we have the cats:

Bowser

Bowser

Teaka

Teaka

Then we have the parrot staying with us:

Max

Max

This African Grey parrot has an amazing repertoire of sounds and wonderful vocabulary. This is my fault: he now says, “Hi, Ann!” many times per day. Instead of repeating this back to Max, I have been trying to whistle a tune (from the “Friendly Giant”). The bird’s owners must be tired of hearing his “Hi, Ann”… as well, Max now exclaims, “QUIET!”, and “Lie down”, and he barks like a dog. Go figure. I love having him here.

I must must must get on with my day. I enjoy catching up in the blog so much, but now I have finished the whole pot of coffee and need to clean kennels and re-check on the minions.

Talk to you later!

Love, Ann

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

