Dogs and Life

An almost “full house”…

When the press was here for my anniversary party two weeks ago, I stated that we have the capacity to board up to about 25 pets. After that, I blathered on about how there are factors such as how many animals come from each family, and if they can be kenneled together. I also stated, “… and there are only so many hours in a day…” to give every pet the care and attention they need.

Tonight there are 17 boarders, and two more are coming tomorrow from different families, many miles in different directions from here. I pretty much let go of the notion of going anywhere else while there are so many to care for.

I groomed this huge border collie today. Friends of Buddy’s family say that he is probably not purebred (because of his size), but I believe that he is all border collie. He’s so handsome. Buddy seemed to enjoy the grooming process, and while he waited for his ride home, he was in our large exercise yard. His behaviour was very composed and for the most part, quiet.

IMG_9416

I’m concerned about Mick in ways that I will not describe in my public blog. I’ve been in touch with his owner. The lovely German Shepherd is starting to really show his age, and this makes me sad.

IMG_9443

This is the first visit for “Topper”, a small lab X. At first he was very vocal, but now that darkness has fallen, he seems more settled.

Topper

Topper

I’m always glad when I get to see Jasper. He is the epitome of eagerness and trainability, and his owners have shaped him into a good and obedient dog. Jasper still has the exuberance of youth, so you have to watch lest he jump or scratch.

IMG_9447

Guess who? You’ve met these guys before:

IMG_9422IMG_9419

Rosie

Rosie

Sierra

Sierra

Petunia

Petunia

Ted

Ted

Toxin

Toxin

Ted and Toxin come from the same household. Ted is just a wee baby, and Toxin is no pushover, but the puppy is already showing signs of food aggression. I will discuss this with their owners… perhaps I’m over reacting.

Boston

Boston

Boston is a nice puppy with great potential. She might be adopted into a different family where the people have more time for her.

Bandit

Bandit

Shuster

Shuster

Palla

Palla

Sadie

Sadie

 

Nellie

Nellie

There you go… most of the beloved guests at the Pet Hostel tonight! You can see why I feel I can use 2 or 3 more indoor pens and a bigger exercise yard. Then I have to quit expanding! There are only so many hours in a day.

Love, Ann

Leave a Reply

