Life and Pets

Hello Wednesday…

Am waiting for a dog to arrive for grooming. I’m enthusiastic about getting my hands on the little fellow; owner reports that he is in dire need of bath and haircut, and is very matted, but to leave the top knot and beard long, AND the fur around the anus. OKAY …

Chewy

Chewy

Chewy waits to go home.

Chewy waits to go home.

There is a beautiful population at the Pet Hostel, as usual. We are boarding Jasper, Karma, Bear & Khuno, Bodhi, Gus, Ule & TJ, Seltzer, Maya and Ceili. I gave Karma a bath this morning and did her nails: she doesn’t go home for a few days yet, but sometimes I just can’t keep my hands off the dogs! I trimmed Seltzer’s and Ceili’s nails, and gave Gus a wee maintenance trim on his feet and face. Gus is normally groomed elsewhere, and I do not want to be offensive by “doing over” what is a perfectly good job. It’s just that Gus has already been here for a couple of weeks, and hair DOES grow and dogs DO pick up dirt anywhere.

Lookit ma nails...

Lookit ma nails…

Karma

Karma

TJ

TJ

Ule

Ule

Jasper

Jasper

The little old dog Bear went home early this morning. I had clipped his long, very sharp talons as well, but I do not think that Bear’s owner agreed it was necessary. Bear is gentle and patient if you are quiet around him, but when he jumped up on me with joy,  he would tear my sweaters and scratch my thin old skin. He was overdue for a pedicure!

Smudge went home yesterday, and Cooper the day before.

Today I’m going into town to sign the papers on the house that Susan and I bought! I have no regret whatsoever about making that purchase, but have a certain degree of trepidation regarding our venture. I’m aware that the house has “ills” that have yet to be discovered, and perhaps problems that cannot be solved. Susan and I are already discussing the possibility of demolishing the house sooner rather than later; I told her I would scope it out more thoroughly and report back. We paid less than the going price of that type of lot.

I chuckled on Sunday morning… when I was directing a friend to see what Su and I bought (without remembering the house number), Gary helpfully offered, “It’s the house that looks like it should be torn down.”.  This was apt, and didn’t hurt my feelings. Mind you, in certain parts of McBride, the description might have fit any of several houses on a block! People are always talking about buying and tearing down a crack house; this is just a crap house.

IMG_8250

I must get up and do something before I have to venture into town. Will add pictures later.

Love, Ann

p.s. I misunderstood about the paperwork for the house… the notary had not received the paperwork yet. I will just wait to be called back. (Possession date April 30th.)

Leave a Reply

