Dogs and Life / Life and Pets

More good days, yay…

It’s very good to be busy. I’m not busy like other grooming shop/boarding kennel owners are busy, but my days seem full. Like almost everyone I know, I’m not getting any younger. The others are … well, you know.

Today I groomed these two little cuties, Angle and Molly:

Angel

Angel

Molly

Molly

Before Angel and Lily came for grooming, I ran some “errands”. This is the term I use for everything from coffee with friends, to banking and shopping, and everything. This morning, I needed to drop off the pink camouflage neckerchiefs that I had made for the band members who are playing for a benefit on the weekend:

IMG_7635 IMG_7615

The fabric I painted/decorated is pictured beside the 12 yards of pink camo ribbon I made for the fund raiser. This is for a young woman who is suffering a type of cancer that is so rare that a “ribbon” had never been chosen for it. When asked, Bonnie said that “pink camouflage” is her favourite colour.

Pink camo it IS. We are all trying to make banners, ribbons, neckerchiefs and even cakes in “her” colour!

So, this morning I visited with Dorothy, although I didn’t sit with her at first because she was sitting at the Beanery in the vicinity of an asshole that I will not sit near. I sat around the corner and enjoyed my coffee, and eventually, Dorothy came over to sit with me.

After that, I migrated to Morels to drop off the fabric and had coffee with Sarah, who had made the polite request that I “make” camo neckerchiefs for her band. We laughed at the fact that I had happened to make 10 of these items after she had asked me to make five: evidently about five more people had wanted to wear one on the fund raiser night. I indicated that I didn’t have any more time to paint fabric before the weekend. Secretly, I thought, “If I CAN, I WILL”.

Then I got groceries and came home to groom the two little doggies. I also groomed McKenna, who is Shelly’s senior sheltie cross. This lovely little dog is staying with us for awhile:

oh-so-pretty McKenna

oh-so-pretty McKenna

McKenna had her teeth professionally cleaned yesterday. I heard the vet say to her as he led her through his clinic, “Now you could win a beauty contest.”.

While I was waiting for McKenna to come home from the vet clinic, I groomed this cat to the best of my ability:

Mia

Mia

Mia was miffed from the get-go. I don’t think she liked being in an airline kennel or going for a car ride. She resented the clippers, the humane mesh “cat bag”, and even being touched anywhere south of her shoulder blades. I didn’t dare clip her nails or check her belly for mats and risk a career-changing injury: I did the best I could and shaved lots of mats and thick fur from her back, hips and rear end. Her howls of protest were very loud, though neither of us actually got hurt.

This is what I found on a dog today. It’s a sort of footnote to my previous post about alarming things we groomers find on pets, but actually lice are not that big a deal on dogs.

Lice

Lice

At the Pet Hostel tonight, we have the senior ladies Ruby, Lush and Joke (‘yolka’), Jack, Willis and Cleo. Tomorrow Jack will go home and Sky and Hunter will arrive, as well as a couple of dogs for grooming. And who knows WHAT else will transpire!

IMG_7636

Jack

Jack

Willis

Willis

Cleo

Cleo

Shelly just phone from Bishop, California. She’s on a great adventure after attending a bachelorette in Vegas on the weekend. Coincidentally, she is in an area that her sister Susan visited just a couple of weeks ago!

Everyone take care. Thanks for coming by…

Love, Ann

p.s. I forgot to show you the new cat “Prin” helping me create the pink camouflage fabric:

IMG_7631

 

Leave a Reply

