Life and Pets

Feeling better…

It seemed logical to follow up with a blog post in a more positive tone.

I did just dry my tears over the stupid truck. It won’t start on its own, so over the course of a couple of days, I steeled my courage to actually go FIND the battery charger, realize that I am capable of hooking it up to the truck battery, and thereby solving my own small problem.

The hood on the truck won’t open for me. I can call myself stupid, but please don’t you do it. I pulled on the latch inside the cab, more than once, actually. I found the other latch under the hood and moved that to its fullest extent, while pressing on and pulling up, clenching my teeth, swearing, and starting to cry … no luck.

The use of the truck is not urgent in any way. I simply thought I could solve this issue for myself. It’s Thursday, and typically I take a run out to the transfer station with garbage and recyclables. Then I take a deep breath and return cans to our depot (that is a hangup I can’t very well discuss here).

Thwarted.

On the bright side … a very bright side, I got both the walk-behind snowblower running, AND the tractor! Day before yesterday, I moved snow around the yard and got thoroughly achy and chilled, but felt almost smug that I accomplished this. Because I “worked hard” and got cold, I watched movies for the rest of the afternoon and evening that day.

Yesterday was the birthday of a dear friend in Calgary. It is her 85th! She, as usual, seemed pleased to hear from me, and we chattered away until a customer of mine arrived. Bless her heart; Helen still works, though this year she didn’t have to work on her birthday. She never complains and always counts her blessings. Helen is a person with whom I can talk about how wonderful my mother was, and that is such a gift. Photo is from her daughter, my lifelong friend, Debra.

Helen

Helen

Then later I went to lunch with another friend! I am so blessed. That was a great visit, with a delicious meal including cheesecake “on the house”.

When I returned home right after our longish lunch, I was greeted with an unpleasant odor in the kennel building. The very large shepherd “Mick” had had an episode of loose stools, INDOORS. I had let all of the dogs out two hours previous to this, but as the temperature outside was bone-chilling and indoor heat-sucking, I left the doggy doors closed. UGH! Earlier in the morning, I had been brushing Mick inside the large run, and there were still some poofs of hair around. Lucky for me, I could gather up all of the blankets to launder, but shaking them off was out of the question. Into the wash they all went, and then I was left with big balls of hair to try to brush off the bedding. At least, by the time they went through three cycles, they were all sanitized (blankets AND mats of hair). This morning I was occupied with trying to brush these furballs off the blankets that have to go home with the dogs.

I would like to say to anyone who feels that I write too much in my blog: just read it in smaller bites! Reading it at all is optional. Also, I have tried to change the font and the size, and either I’m not doing it right, or it’s not an option for a “free” blog. I pay for enough that this is not an upgrade I’m going to make.

I’m so lucky to have “the girls” back for the day. I love having these three with me:

Ruby

Ruby

Lush

Lush

Joke (pronounced 'Yolka')

Joke (pronounced ‘Yolka’)

That’s Ruby, Lush and Joke, from left to right, or top to bottom. (I can’t seem to get the pictures to line up horizontally). You were introduced to them in a previous post.

Mick and Rory (aka ‘Lootie’) are going home today. Other than the issue I mentioned earlier, they have been a joy to have around.

Mick

Mick

Lootie

Lootie

You can click on the thumbnails to see a bigger picture.

I have Tucker here while his parents are in the Dominican Republic. I think I am due for a vacation there, too, but in the meantime, I will do my part by babysitting:
IMG_7265

Last week I helped with the rescue of a couple of cats. They were not in immediate danger, but their owners are not “together” in any sense of the word, and the pets’ day-to-day needs were barely met. Certainly they were not being given the human contact they needed. One cat was sent into Prince George to be adopted by a family member, and this one was left with me, in order that I might find her a home. Can you sense this coming? I am already attached to the cat.

Prin upon arrival

Prin upon arrival

Prin settled in

Prin settled in


While the little black cat was looking so unsettled, I made a bed for her in my recliner chair, with dry food, and canned food beside her, and then I sprinkled some catnip on the blanket. She rolled around in that, and then went exploring in the building. My own cat, Smokey, then got up in the chair, writhed in the catnip, ate some food, and scampered off. I told Gary that I now had TWO cats that were higher than kites…

I will let Prin go to a suitable home, but I’m not in a hurry. I can’t imagine, after what she’s been through, that she is so adaptable, but she certainly IS!

We have Cooper here for a few more days. He is no trouble at all, and always a joy.

Cooper

Cooper

Tilly just came for an overnight stay. She is pleasant and humble with me, usually with this submissive posture. Perhaps I shouldn’t post this, but Tilly does not like Gary YET… she will bare her teeth and growl menacingly, thereby (in MY mind) blowing a hole in the theory that dogs are always a good judge of character. I also shouldn’t post this, but in another life, with different owners, I believe that Tilly was mistreated by a man. Explains the situation, don’t you think?

Tilly

Tilly

Later today, I will have Chimo back for a visit, and Willis, and I will have little Mollie for grooming, quite late in the afternoon. Perhaps I will reward myself with dinner out; I don’t need much of an excuse. Diet soup be damned.

Everyone take care. I love you for visiting my blog.

~ Ann

P.S. I just spent twenty minutes on the phone with young “Stephanie”, who represents Canada411. Her enthusiasm was contagious, and as I listened, she assured me that because Canada411 has just partnered with Google, and that 3000 people had “Searched” for businesses like mine since Feb. 1st, I could get a better ranking for 50% off, etc. etc.. I could barely get a word in at all. I asked at least three times how much the cost of this would be, and she cheerfully, finally replied, “$115 per month!”. I ended up sourly hanging up on her ass… after politely declining the offer.
Last week I DID give my credit card to someone else who supposedly can “brand” my business to kingdom come. The price was considerably more than $115, but it was a “lifetime” ranking/promotion thing. I am going to quit letting anyone pitch their case, whether I come up on the first page of a search or the twenty-third page. It’s like they’re all trying to hold me hostage. I have my beautiful life and wonderful career, with or without Google or Infopage listings. Pfft.

Leave a Reply

