Dogs and Life

A little saga unfolds…

Just after politely declining any funds from “Cupcake Day for Animals”, I’m asked to participate in a very small-scale rescue.

In the first incarnation of this story, I was asked to take in a chihuahua and two to three cats, in the capacity of “fostering”, without any remuneration at all. Now that I’m as old as I am, I am better at setting some boundaries and rules.

I explained that I’m not a rescue society, and stated my rates. At this point, my backbone is not so strong, and I said that I would “take in” these animals, but only with the understanding that I would immediately look for good homes for them. I’m not telling you the whole story in this public blog; I doubted that the family would return for the animals, whether or not there was a fee.

As phone calls were made all over the place, the drama became not so remarkable. The pets’ owners were contacted and they found homes for at least the chihuahua and one cat. Tomorrow I will go pick up two cats, one of which will be “mine” to find a home for, and the other cat which I am asked to board for my usual fee. When push came to shove, the owners started finding solutions on their own, with the help of a certain government ministry.

I’m glad I was assertive. I don’t have to be upset with myself, and Gary isn’t either. If I cannot find a home for the one cat (ssshhhh I might keep her), and/or I get “stuck with” the one that is supposed to be just boarding, I can send them to the SPCA in Prince George with my friend Chris.

It was a fairly busy grooming day. Some dogs came for the spa treatment, and others were to be clipped and bathed while boarding.

I had these two little munchkins for three days. The owners and I laugh and joke, but I know they were very worried about how “spoiled” the dogs are, that they might not eat, etc..   I take these things as a personal challenge, and I lavished assurances on all the parties. I fed Turbo and Ginger by hand everything that was prescribed in their diet… cooked hamburger, tiny bits of weiner and Rollover, kibbles and canned food.

Turbo & Ginger

Turbo & Ginger

Ginger has always thought I am great, it seems. Turbo has been more reserved, but I think I won her over, this visit!

I had this beautiful family of dogs for the week as well. This time there were no calamities, however minor… no diarrhea, nails clipped to short, or anything. They got their meals on time, and different meds for each as well. I wanted to hug these big girls all the time.

Ruby

Ruby

Lush

Lush

Joke (pronounced 'Yolka')

Joke (pronounced ‘Yolka’)

I’m boarding Nellie, Teddy and Sadie, too. I groomed Nellie today (after pic was taken). All these girls are so huggable too!

Nellie

Nellie

Teddy

Teddy

Sadie

Sadie

Willis

Willis

It is very hard to tell from the photo, but this is Willis on my lap, while I take a break in the recliner chair in the kennel building, coffee at my side. He was pretty restless, so I let him jump down, and THEN… he finally spotted the guinea pig!

IMG_7104

I’m glad that Taffy the piggie does not seem terrorized by having the predators all around her every day.

We had a visit from Gracie. She seems so joyful all of the time and I’m so glad to see her.

Gracie

Gracie

I clipped the nails on this wee elderly pomeranian yesterday. She was stressed, but so good:

Taz

Taz

Today I groomed Maggie:

Maggie

Maggie

And Bandit, a mini-australian shepherd:

Bandit

Bandit

Bandit’s owner likes to have him sheared short sometimes.

I had a visit from Poppy and Crosby, but I found it hard to get a good portrait of either, even while I sat on the floor with them. They were just here for nail clipping.

Crosby (foreground) and Poppy

Crosby (foreground) and Poppy

That has been the last couple of days for me. As my friend said, “No wonder you’re always so happy and well; you’re surrounded every day with your best friends!”. I treasure my days with Gary, and with the treasure of pets by my side.

Love, Ann

Leave a Reply

